NomCom 2004/05 Results

nomcom04@ietf.org

Stewart Bryant <stbryant@cisco.com>

IESG Slate

- IETF Chair/General AD Brian Carpenter
- Applications AD *Ted Hardie
- Internet AD Mark Townsley
- Operations & Management AD *David Kessens
- Security AD *Russ Housley
- Routing AD *Bill Fenner
- Transport AD *Jon Peterson

^{*} indicates incumbent's reappointment

IAB Slate

- *Bernard Aboba
- Loa Andersson
- Kurtis Lindqvist
- Dave Meyer
- Pekka Nikander
- Lixia Zhang

* indicates incumbent reappointment

Nominations & Selection Process

- No shortage of excellent nominations provided by the community!
- Lots of interviews performed at "third IETF" meeting, many phone interviews and explicit email queries for additional information as well
- Confirmed every nominees willingness to be considered for each position
- Collected detailed questionnaires from all "willing nominees" (thanks to all that completed these questionnaires)
- Collected community feedback from a very large sample of the community (explicitly solicited feedback from over 1000 individuals on various positions) on short lists employing 3-phase process
- Maintained database for NomCom members that contained all nominees, who nominated them, ALL feedback on nominee, questionnaires, relevant responses, etc.. - all populated manually!
- Lots and lots of email to nomcom04@ietf.org
- At least two 2-hour calls a week and lots of email discussions
- Votes carried out in email

Why were we late?

- We started a bit late .. but more importantly, perhaps RFC 3777 is too tight:
 - Complete confirmations one month prior to the start of the "first IETF" - Feb 4, 2005
 - This means NomCom should have completed selections one month prior to that - Jan 4, 2005
 - NomCom member selection process (collecting volunteers, PVRS, etc..) takes 1.5 months
 - I* Nominations taken through the prior IETF meeting (e.g., mid-November)
 - This leaves 1.5 months for the selection process!

What Would Have Made Things Easier?

- Many nominations didn't provide ANY comments on why someone was being nominated
- Negative feedback and disapproval of particular individuals often contained no supporting content/text (e.g., "[] sucks." or "I don't like []." <-period)
- Most nominations provided no contact information for the nominees, some were surprisingly difficult to locate
- No holidays during the process?
- Lag in response from folks
- Automated nomination and feedback collection process would have saved LOTS of cycles and lessened the probability of that occasional error - absolutely need next year!

Thanks to the 2004/05 NomCom team for a huge amount of work - which anyone who has been on NomCom can attest to....

- Voting Members:
 - Alia Atlas
 - Andrew Lange
 - Chris Liljenstolpe
 - Juha Wiljakka
 - Lakshminath Dondeti
 - Magnus Westerlund
 - Markus Isomak
 - iMatt Larson
 - Russ White
 - Stewart Bryant

- Non-voting Members:
 - Eric Rescorla (IAB Liaison)
 - Alex Zinin (IESG Liaison)
 - Steve Crocker (ISOC Liaison)
 - Richard Draves (Previous Chair/Advisor)
 - Danny McPherson (Chair)

In Conclusion...

- Selections were late but confirming bodies compensated thanks!
- NomCom clearly did not suffer from group think
- Tardiness was unquestionably not to due lack of effort or dedication of NomCom team, and we believe it was clearly in the best interest of the IETF
- Looking forward to IAOC work... (ha)

That's it... Thanks!

nomcom04@ietf.org