Newcomers

This page provides a summary of information and resources to help newcomers to the IETF get started at IETF 102 in Montreal.

Key Info


Welcome to the IETF in Montreal! There are a number of events designed to introduce and integrate IETF newcomers to the community. Dive in and have fun!

Newcomers' webinar before IETF 102

Two sessions of a one-hour moderated webinar for how to prepare for the IETF 102 meeting week will be offered in advance of IETF 102. These sessions use Meetecho, the tool used for remote participation at IETF meetings. If you have not used Meetecho before, you are encouraged to review the helpful information here before joining your first working group session.

Two sessions are offered:

  • Thursday July 5 at 1200 UTC (5 AM PDT / 8 AM EDT / 1 PM CET / 9 PM JST)
  • Tuesday July 10 at 1500 UTC (8 AM PDT / 11 AM EDT / 4 PM CET / midnight JST)
Join either webinar via the Meetecho IETF 102 newcomers webinar webpage

Newcomer events at IETF 102

Day Event Time Location
Sunday

Newcomers’ Overview

This tutorial is an introduction to the IETF's history, purpose, and processes.

12:30-13:30

Viger

Sunday

IETF Quick Connections

NOTE: Pre-registration is required and space is extremely limited. Quick Connections is a simple and effective way for you to be introduced to a variety of experienced IETF attendees — often working group (WG) chairs — who can help you get more involved in your areas of interest.

15:00-16:00 Place du Canada
Sunday

Newcomers' Meet and Greet

This event is designed to introduce IETF newcomers to working group chairs, the IESG, and each other.

16:00-17:00 Place du Canada
Monday

Newcomers' Dinner

Organized by Secretariat, please email the IETF Registrar at registrar@ietf.org to RSVP no later than 14:00 the day of.

20:15 Meet at IETF Registration

IETF 102 Meeting Agenda

The agenda is dynamic and changes throughout the week. The most current version is always online.

A marked up printed version is also on the bulletin board near IETF registration in the meeting venue.

Many people also view the agenda on their smartphone; IETF meeting agendas are available for iPhone and Android.

IETF Mentoring Program

The IETF Mentoring Program matches experienced IETF participants with newcomers (people who have participated in three or fewer face-to-face meetings or anyone registering as a student) in order to aid their integration into the IETF community through advice, help, and collected wisdom. For more information and to sign up to be a participant in the program, please visit the IETF Mentoring Program Page.

IETF badges

Many of the IETF attendees will have colored dots on their badges showing that they are part of one of the groups below. Explanations of the dots and an IETF intro can be found in the Tao of the IETF, A Novice's Guide to the Internet Engineering Task Force.


Dots & Ribbons (Who's Who!)

Badge Dots and Ribbons

Resources for getting started

There are a variety of resources available to newcomers, including tutorials and web pages that describe the IETF processes and provide overviews of IETF technical work. 

Finding documents online

Internet-Drafts and RFCs can be found online using the Datatracker. You can search on title, author or other criteria.

https://datatracker.ietf.org/doc/

Other presentation materials, such as meeting slides that are presented in working sessions, can be found (usually but not always in advance of the session) here:

https://datatracker.ietf.org/meeting/102/materials.html

Register for IETF 103 in Bangkok!

Join the IETF community as it creates the technologies that power the Internet.

Register Here!